Search

Product reviews for Liger

Write your own review Close Review Form
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Overall, well worth the price.
Nice action. Lower than my Ibanez Artist and that feels like butter. Good intonation. Beautiful headstock even before the decal was added. Wonderful fretboard with smooth inlay. Ebony isn't expected at this price point. Nice upgrade to a bone nut over plastic BTW. Lightweight overall and a back saver. Big strap pegs, negating the need to install the gold schaller locks I bought for it in advance. Warm sound but still crisp with bridge pickup on. Clean, knot free mahogany. Nice high gloss finish. Quite electronics (no hum, no scratchy pots). Overall, well worth the price.
Tim Walters | 12/27/2012 11:27 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (2/0)
I was very happy knowing I may not need to change a thing.
From a 10 minute play on it I was impressed overall the stock tuning keys which seem to keep in tune and I am sure the pickups will sound good plugged in.  So I was very happy knowing I may not need to change a thing on it to use it for gigs as is. Also the fit and finish is very good.  It arrived without any scratches rubs or finish issues at all.  Now i just need to crank it up live for a real testdrive.
Bruce McElyea | 1/30/2013 6:20 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
It sounds great, plays fantastically and looks like a million bucks.
I have had my Liger for a while now and I want to thank you for making such a great guitar. It sounds great, plays fantastically and looks like a million bucks.  Keep up the good work and thanks again.  A Wolph may be in my future!!
Chris Hall | 7/2/2014 7:18 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Whoever does the setup did a fantastic job.
Got my Liger yesterday, and I love it.  Whoever does the setup did a fantastic job, please convey my appreciation.  I'm looking forward to see what the Deadbolt is like. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Peter Blanty | 12/2/2014 7:40 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
Effects never sounded better.
Got the OBEL up and running after re-wiring my pedal tray.  Sounds awesome. Effects never sounded better, guitar is easy to play for a new instrument and very varied in terms of tones I can get.  Really happy so far, thanks.
Larry Brent | 12/20/2014 11:37 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
After just two weeks, feels like I have been playing this forever.
I am blown away. After just two weeks, feels like I have been playing this forever.  The sounds I have always searched for in  my pedal effects are finally what I always wanted them to be. Years of tone frustration just washing away. I have a close friend who works in guitar retail, used to be in charge of vintage instruments for a major national chain in the NYC branch. He was amazed at how good the Liger feels and sounds un-amplified. He asked if paid $2,000 like it would have been a good deal at that price.
Larry Brent | 1/10/2015 1:45 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
The OBEL loop works as advertised
I have been fiddling with the pickup configuration switches and tone controls today, possibly too many subtle differences for right now, the middle pickup seems dominant, and the OBEL loop works as advertised.  Fit and finish is quite nice, all frets are dressed, and I didn't get any buzzing on strings when I tuned down one step flat.
Steve Foley | 3/15/2015 7:41 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This is the best guitar that I have owned.
I waited until Tuesday morning to tune her up, and played scales for several hours; this morning the top two strings were a little flat, but that is not bad for new strings.  I have been fiddling with the pickup configuration switches and tone controls today, possibly too many subtle differences for right now, the middle pickup seems dominant, and the OBEL loop works as advertised.  Fit and finish is quite nice, all frets are dressed, and I didn't get any buzzing on strings when I tuned down one step flat.  Going to keep experimenting. This is the best guitar that I have owned.
Steve Foley | 3/17/2015 6:49 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Thanks again for an amazing instrument.
I just wanted to drop a line to say that the new Liger is a work of art!!! The set up is great, the fret action fantastic, and has just the attitude I was hoping for in the playing. It was worth all the waiting!!! Thanks again for an amazing instrument.
James Creely | 4/20/2015 1:43 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
You have a good product...
You have a good product with good support and word got around.
Merle Neiman | 6/3/2015 9:28 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I'm so excited.
My guitar arrived and it looks beautiful!! I'm so excited. I'll be getting to know it tonight! Many thanks!
Greg Martin | 8/15/2015 4:39 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Totally worth the wait!
Got the Liger today. Totally worth the wait! Whoever is doing the fret work, give 'em a raise. Plays like butter.
Jared Kuhn | 1/14/2016 6:36 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I could not put it down for days.
I ordered this guitar essentially as a vanity piece. Loving the music of Jerry and the Grateful Dead I wanted something inspiring to look at and play when I was playing that music or had Jer in mind. I had seen positive reviews online in terms of playability and build so I thought it would be about on level with an Ibanez Artcore or similar Chinese import guitar (...which of course it is.) However, when the guitar arrived I was totally floored. I could not put it down for days. There were some minor finish irregularities as Fred had clearly shown and described. But the setup was so amazing, and the playability was so right on. The basic ingredients of a guitar like this are all there; The 25.5 in scale, the ebony fretboard. The high mass in the body and headstock. The neck joint, which is totally solid. All this got me much closer to the actual Jerry guitar sounds than I expected. So clear and with real pop if you dig in. (I got the Swamp Ash body option) And a very consistent sound and volume up and down the 24 frets, with lots of natural sustain. No dead spots. Not only that, so far I love the pickups. And the pots, switches and hardware are all totally solid. I'm not making any mods or changes for a while. I know I can't say this will be true of all of them, but for me this is a guitar that just sings. It's more than the sum of it's parts. I've spent a lot more on guitars that should have been better, but just didn't have ""IT."" For me this guitar has ""IT"" in spades. I'm not trying to say Jerry would come back from the dead and pick this guitar over Rosebud. But this is a dang good guitar in it's own right I personally like mine a LOT. Also importantly Fred is totally chill to do business with. No funny business, hidden costs or other weirdness. Which is easy to forget when it's not there. So I don't know how you did it, Fred but keep doing it!
David Sutton | 3/22/2016 12:25 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
The ebony fretboard is amazing.
I'm not sure how to articulate just how impressed I am with my Liger. I am absolutely blown away by the value. The tone is phenomenal - I opted for the brass nut and a Super 2 in the middle position, but the stock pickups sound good as well. I have recently been playing a Strat into a Fender Twin which has allowed me to approximate a pretty decent Jerry tone, but plugging the Liger into my rig - without changing anything - brings me significantly closer, it's crazy. The ebony fretboard is amazing, the neck feels great, the guitar is heavy, solid, and balanced. Very impressed with the natural sustain and the tech who set it up is a straight up luthier, a pro - and it comes through. It's also gorgeous. The sculpted body is gorgeous. The stain is beautiful, with the wood grain really coming through. A weird comparison, but when you see someone that you thought was attractive in a picture anyways, but then you see them in person and they are even better looking? It's sort of like that. If you're on the fence go for it. I can't think of many other opportunities to get as good of a deal. It's a no brainer. Hats off to Freddy and his team for doing what I thought could never be done.
Ryan Simone | 6/20/2016 11:32 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
It has a wonderful feel, action, and tone!
I just got my Liger delivered! What a beautiful guitar! I tuned it and played it for several minutes (in my office!) and can’t wait to plug in later! It has a wonderful feel, action, and tone! Thank you very much, I have a feeling I will be looking for a Deadbolt and/or Wolph soon!
Tim Gallegos | 7/30/2016 8:30 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
I play without an amp often and every note rings like a bell.
This guitar is amazing. It has everything needed and it's controllable. I love the ergonomics and the neck is killer. It's as good as any guitar considering electronics can be changed to personalize ones preferences. I play without an amp often and every note rings like a bell. It's lively and even. This thing has soul and it's something lacking in a big part now even in the 10k guitars.
Bill Shafer | 8/17/2016 10:34 AM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
I received my Liger and I Love it!
The neck and headstock are among the prettiest I've ever seen, she is a beauty!  She is heavy and has great sustain, sounds great even when playing it acoustically.
Sergio Vuskovic | 9/20/2018 11:16 PM
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)